Between Thought and Expression

An eclectic guide to life's musical journey.

  Menu    <<Home   Audio   Electronic   Film   Hip-Hop   Humor   Indie Rock   Mash-Ups   MP3s   Pop   Videos 

Sunday, September 26, 2010

DJMonsterMo Sep 10 Mix

DJMonsterMo Sep 10 Mix mp3

DJMonsterMo Sep 10 Mix mp3 DJMonsterMo Sep 10 Mix zip

DJMonsterMo Sep 10 Mix mp3 mirror

1. Best Coast - When I'm With You
2. The New Pornographers - Crash Years
3. Sambassadeur - I Can Try
4. Club 8 - Shape Up!
5. Janelle Monáe - Cold War
6. Wavves - King of the Beach
7. Sleigh Bells - Tell Em
8. How To Destroy Angels - Fur-Lined
9. Ceo - Come With Me
10. Cee Lo - F--k You
11. Robyn - Dancing on My Own
12. Kanye West - Good Friday (feat. Common, Pusha T, Kid Cudi, Big Sean & Charlie Wilson)
13. Bullion - Say Goodbye to What
14. Blonde Redhead - Here Sometimes
15. Oh No Ono - Internet Warrior
16. Arcade Fire - Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)
17. The Morning Benders - Excuses
18. Beach House - Walk In The Park
19. Kathryn Calder - Arrow

The end of summer in Boston comes rather abruptly. There are too few days to transition from 90 degree to 60 degree weather. Hopefully, you have pleasant memories of summer as autumnal darkness consumes the daylight.

Best Coast starts off this end of September mix with their clever mix of garage rock, shoegaze, and surf pop on "When I'm With You". It's no surprise that they are NME's #1 new band of 2010. The New Pornographers are next with "Crash Years" from their LP 'Together', a return to form for them. Sambassadeur's Swedish brand of Balearic rock/pop on "I Can Try" is perfect for those who still can't let go of summer. Staying on the Swedish theme, Club 8 moves in a new direction with their LP 'The People's Record', fusing their bossa nova and dance pop roots with Afro-beat, Brazilian pagode, and Caribbean influences. "Shape Up!" is a good example of the result.

Janelle Monáe is proof that you don't need Auto-Tune garbage to sell an R&B record. "Cold War" is off her debut album 'The ArchAndroid', a stunning fusion of glam rock, jazz, funk, hip-hop, and R&B. "King of the Beach" by Wavves is a fun noise rock, surf punk tune. Speaking of "fun" and "noise", Sleigh Bells epitomizes these characteristics with their standout track "Tell Em" from their debut album 'Treats'. "Fur-Lined" is off the how to destroy angels mp3 free eponymous debut EP by How to Destroy Angels, a new project featuring Trent Reznor and his wife, among others.

Back to Sweden with "Come With Me" by Ceo, which is Eric Berglund's solo project as he takes a break from The Tough Alliance. Next up is Cee-Lo's "F--k You", which you probably have not heard only if you have been living under a rock. Don't miss the great Cee-Lo video video. If you've had enough of Dr. Luke atrocities like "Tik Tok", "Dynamite", and "California Gurls", Robyn's "Dancing On My Own" is the proper pop antidote. If you think I have a thing for Swedish pop music, you would be correct.

Kanye West is on fire. He's been releasing a new song every week or two on his blog and Twitter until the release of his new album. I'm not sure how many of these unreleased songs will make the album, but chances are that if he keeps on this prolific trend, this will prove to be a blockbuster album. "Good Friday" features Common, Pusha T (of Clipse fame), and Kid Cudi. "Say Goodbye to What" by Bullion is a controlled chaos of drums, congas, guitar, bhangra elements, chanting, and disembodied funk. Say what? Yeah. Next, Blonde Redhead's "Here Sometimes" meanders toward a new downtempo electronic sound.

Hailing from Denmark, Oh No Ono reminds us that there is good Scandinavian pop music outside of Sweden. "Internet Warrior" is multi-layered psychedelic indie pop/rock goodness. Is it just me or does "Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" sound quite similar to MGMT's "Time to Pretend"? On this track, Arcade Fire laments the deterministic fate of the American landscape, the strip mall hell that is suburbia, whose growth has perhaps only been arrested (but at the same time is made more stark) by the empty shells left behind in the wake of the financial meltdown.

With "Excuses", The Morning Benders have crafted a lovely indie rock/pop tune with a touch of doo-wop à la Del Shannon. Beach House's "Walk in the Park" is the perfect lazy dream pop tune to unwind. The mix closes with the delicate and haunting "Arrow" from The New Pornographers member Kathryn Calder.

Labels: , , ,

DJMonsterMo | 1:06 PM |


blog comments powered by Disqus