Between Thought and Expression

An eclectic guide to life's musical journey.

  Menu    <<Home   Audio   Electronic   Film   Hip-Hop   Humor   Indie Rock   Mash-Ups   MP3s   Pop   Videos 

Saturday, January 14, 2006

New Pantheon Award finalists, Academy screeners, Digital DJ licenses, Cool Cuts Chart

  • Here are the finalists for the New Pantheon Music Award, awarded to the best album selling less than 500,000 copies.

    The finalists:
    Animal Collective - Feels
    Antony and the Johnsons - I am a Bird Now
    Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
    Death Cab For Cutie - Plans
    Fiona Apple - Extraordinary Machine
    Kings of Leon - Aha Shake Heartbreak
    M.I.A. - Arular
    Sufjan Stevens - Illinois
    The Decemberists - Picaresque

    The nominations were places by a partly illustrious, partly dubious panel:

    ?uestlove - Member of The Roots
    Adam Brody - Actor on The OC
    Alex Patsavas - Music Supervisor: Chop Shop
    Beck - Mad Scientist
    Benjamin Gibbard - of Death Cab for Cutie
    Chester Bennington - of Linkin Park
    Dave Matthews - of Dave Matthews Band
    Elijah Wood - Actor/Hobbit
    Elton John - Musician, Songwriter, Legend
    Jason Mraz - Mr. A-Z
    Jennifer Maerz - Music Editor at The Stranger
    John Cameron Mitchell - Actor, Writer, Producer
    John Legend - Singer/Songwriter
    John McCrea - of Cake
    Josh Schwartz - Creator - The OC
    Keith Urban - International Superstar
    Margaret Cho - Comedienne, Writer
    Mike Shinoda - of Linkin Park
    Nic Harcourt - Music Director, KCRW
    Peter Margasak - Writer at The Chicago Reader
    Ric Ocasek - Musician, Producer, Icon
    Ryan Schreiber - Editor-in-Chief at Pitchfork Media
    Shirley Manson - of Garbage
    Steve Hochman - Writer - L.A. Times
    Suzanne Vega - Singer, Songwriter
    Tony Kanal - of No Doubt
    Will Hermes - Editor and Writer

  • If you can't stop industry people from file-sharing, you might as well give up: Academy screeners on P2P

  • Oft-ignored digital DJ licenses in the UK

  • The Cool Cuts is the UK’s leading tastemaker dance chart compiled from reactions from tastemaker DJs and the Cool Cuts shop panel.

    The Cool Cuts is broadcast on Ministry Of Sound Digital Radio ' on Paul 'Radical' Ruiz - 'Anything Goes' show every Wednesday 2-4pm GMT on'
    and on Tall Paul’s Kiss 100 show. The Cool Cuts is published in the UK’s leading music industry trade publication Music Week and on

    Cool Cuts Chart for MW issue date 21/01/06

    1 NEW SORRY / Madonna / East West
    With mixes from Pet Shop Boys and Stuart Price as Paper Faces and Man With Guitar
    2 (3) INCREDIBLE / Shapeshifters / Positiva
    With mixes from Denis The Menace & Jerry Ropero and Mark Knight & MTV
    3 NEW HELLO I LOVE YOU / The Doors / Marine Parade
    With stunning new mixes from Adam Freeland
    4 (5) MAKE A MOVE ON ME / Joey Negro / Data
    Back for 2006 with a full release
    5 NEW FADE / Solu Music / Hed Kandi
    Hed Kandi’s evergreen classic in new mixes from Grant Nelson
    6 (9) PARTY FOR THE WEEKEND / Soul Seekerz / CDR
    Lively party time house tune
    7 NEW ALONE TONIGHT / Above & Beyond / Anjunabeats
    First single from their album with mixes from Mathew Dekay and Disciples Of Sound
    8 (10) WALKING AWAY / The Egg / Cr2
    Getting a UK release with new mix of ‘The Wall’ by Mylo
    With mixes from Ian Carey and Trailblazers
    10 NEW IT DOESN’T STOP / The Young Punx / Mofo Hifi
    Excellent mash up of Michael Jackson’s ‘Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough’
    11 NEW ETERNITY / Matt Darey / Darey Products
    With mixes from Alex Morph, Thomas Dat, John ‘00’ Flemming and more
    12 (16) TURN ME OUT / Dirty Old Ann / White Label
    Kathy Brown’s classic gets a disco makeover
    13 (18) PUNCH DRUNK/COPYRAT / Cirez D / Mouseville
    Eric Prydz under one of his pseudonyms with a couple of hot club grooves
    14 NEW FALSE LIGHT / Marco V / Maelstrom
    With mixes from Ton B and Danny Olivera
    15 (20) CLEAR SKY / Kayot / Buzzin Fly
    Cool house vibes with a mix from Manoo and Francois A
    16 NEW SWIMMING PLACES / Julien Jabre / Defected
    Summery house groove with new mixes from Jerome Sydenham and Pete Heller
    17 NEW SHOW ME LOVE / Robin S / Champion
    Club classic is back with a new mix from Diesel
    18 NEW RAZORBLADE / GIVE ME LOVE / Coburn / Frontier
    Sexy electro pop tune
    19 NEW WHAT’S YOUR DAMAGE / Test Icicles / Domino
    Digitalism and Alan Braxe & Fred Falke on the mix
    20 NEW IN THE EVENING / Rob Boskamp / Spinnin’
    Pumping reworking of the Sheryl Lee Ralph classic

    © Original Artists 2006

    The Cool Cuts is compiled from reactions from Tastemaker DJs and from the Cool Cuts shop panel: Bang Bang (Bristol), Black Market (London), Bradley’s (Halifax), Catapult (Cardiff), Citysounds (London), Crash (Leeds), Covert (Brighton), Eastern Bloc (Manchester) Global Groove (Stoke), Know How (London) Massive (Oxford & Birmingham), Mixmaster (Belfast), Plastic Fantastic (London), Power (Wigan), Pure Groove (London), Streetwise (Cambridge), The Disc (Bradford), 3 Beat (Liverpool), Trax (London), 23rd Precinct (Glasgow), Urban (Brighton).

DJMonsterMo | 1:39 PM |


blog comments powered by Disqus